What is Navamsha ?

Nava means 9 and amsha means Parts in Sanskrit.

It means each sign/ Rashi /house is of 30 degrees. When we divide a sign in 9 parts its called NAV(9)AMSHA(parts).

So 30/9 = 3 degree and 20 mins (No its not maths decimals – its degrees so it comes down to 3 degree and 20 min)

Each part of the rashi (30 degree) is of 3 degree 20 minutes on 9 divisions. Each of the 9 divisions may be called as Pada.

1 Rashi = 9 x (3 degree 20 min ) = 30 degree


A rashi divided into 9 parts is called Navamsha.

One thought on “Cracking The Navamsha – 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: